Hedy Lamarr  (pronounced HayDey)  would have been 99 years old today. One of the most beautiful women of all time her life was quite astonishing. Read her autobiography – Ecstasy and Me, My Life as a Woman – it is a real eye opener. Badly written but blimey what stories. Apparently she slept with all comers in Hollywood. Men, women, everything in between. Born Hedwig Eva Maria Kiesler it was Louis B Mayer changed her last name to Lamarr.

Lampooned in Mel Brooks’ classic Blazing Saddles she sued and settled out of court.
She has a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame for her work in 36 movies and in 1949 she won The Sour Apple Award for being the least Co-Operative actress. How cool is that. Who would win that award in today’s market?

20131108-075229.jpg

20131108-075240.jpg

20131108-075325.jpg

“Any girl can be glamorous. All you have to do is stand still and look stupid.” Hedy Lamarr.

Hedy Lamarr’s talent is more than skin-deep… We argued quite a bit but I respected Hedy. She loves picture-making, it shines out of her. I had no idea Hedy was as good an actresses as she turned out to be. She was fiery, yet did everything expected of her. When I was blowing up, Hedy remained calm. She had great self-confidence and self-respect. Considering her reputation and beauty, she is a most unaffected person. Cecil B DeMille

Lou Ferrigno is 62 today.

20131108-130144.jpg

20131108-130153.jpg

20131108-130207.jpg

20131108-130215.jpg

 

So here’s my Lou Ferrigno story. Back in the day I worked for a video rental company that released a film Called The Cage. Starring Lou Ferrigno. We flew him to England to do a promotional tour. We set up “video dealer” screenings in Manchester, London and Birmingham. I went to Manchester. 500 video dealers throughout the North West turned up, watched the film, had a drink, met Lou (who is deaf and in a busy environment didn’t hear too well, one dealer complained as he asked how he was enjoying Manchester, being a proud Mancunian and Lou replied “enjoy the movie”) anyway, all went worth out a hitch. Off to London, same deal. No problems. (How are you enjoying London? “Enjoy the movie”) and I took the opportunity to crash at my Mums flat. I emerged from my morning ablutions wrapped in a towel as Lou was “on the sofa” on TVAM with Mike Morris who asked how long he was staying in London. No, he didn’t say “enjoy the movie” he said he was leaving right after the show. I freaked out. “Oh no you’re not, I’ve got 500 video dealers in Birmingham waiting to meet you tonight” I shouted at the unresponsive tv.
I checked with his hotel and the little (well not so little) shit had checked out and sent his luggage to Heathrow.
What to do. Anyway, a week or so before we had brought Mohammed Ali, Joe Frazier and George Foreman over for a promo tour on a video of their fights we released and I had a signed pair of boxing gloves from that trip. To make up for Lou not being there we raffled off these gloves. It sort of eased the situation but I think it clouded my judgement of Mr F and I never really forgave him.
I hope he has a good birthday today though.

